2021 AGM Legacy Medal Presentation

Among those honoured at the recent Legacy Medal Presentation were trailblazing rowers, Stephanie Foster and Robyn Clarke as well as Alan Grey, 1962 British Commonwealth Games silver medallist in the eight. Current Chairman of the NZRF and 1976 Olympic bronze medallist Ivan Sutherland was also surprised with his Legacy medal presentation on the night. ‘The Legacy Medal presentation was certainly a major surprise for me and I felt very humbled to be presented with it in front of many rowing friends. The honour of representing my country and being part of the proud history of NZ Rowing is signified by this medal and I feel very privileged to receive it,’ Ivan commented on the night.

The presentation took place at NZRA AGM Dinner which was hosted by the Waikato Rowing Association in May at the Novotel, Hamilton.

It was a special occasion for the Foundation to be able to present another six Legacy Medal’s with the Legacy recipients sharing their memories and reminiscing about their time wearing the silver fern.
Those that received Legacy medals were: Noel Pope (No.19), Norman Suckling (No. 64), Alan Grey (No. 68), Stephanie Foster (No. 165), Glenda Roger (No. 166), Ivan Sutherland (No. 132) and Robin Clarke (No. 193).

A further two Legacy Medal recipients were read out at the dinner, Leslie Arthur (No. 65) and Rodney Hutchinson (No. 82). These presentations are to be made in Australia by Tony Popplewell, who has offered to represent the Foundation.